So long to buying éclairs at the grocery store

Image: amwrecipes from From flickr

Since starting this blog I have been inspired to reach beyond what I have been making in the past and make some things, that either I haven’t made in a long time or haven’t made at all.   An éclair is a dessert that my boyfriend and I purchase from the grocery store on occasion.  Due to the quantity of  the éclairs  in the package we don’t get to enjoy them for very long.  Since my boyfriend’s birthday is this week I thought that I would spoil him with homemade éclairs.   The recipe that I used was from www.marthastewart.com.

First off, let me say that I will never say “let me make these éclairs real quick”!  There’s no ‘real quick’ about making these éclairs, but they are very delicious.  I started this recipe at about noon and at roughly 4:30pm they were completed and put in my fridge.  The Pate a Choux peaked without the need for the egg white.  The Pastry cream came out awesome and  using a ice bath to cool it down is something I’ve never done before but it allowed me to fill my éclairs sooner.  The chocolate glaze was a little bit of problem for me and I won’t blame it on the recipe, it was my fault that it went wrong.  I thought that I had bought semisweet baking chocolate squares but I had not.  I was able to make the glaze using an 11.5 oz bag of Nestle milk chocolate chips.   My error saved me the step of having to chop baking chocolate.   I believe that using this method allows for a thicker, more spreadable chocolate than the original glaze recipe.

So, there you have it.  If you have an entire day free and all the ingredients on hand you can make these éclairs and spoil somebody that you love.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

